IMG_9785

A little bit of background into our famous Cambridge University that Things To Do In Cambridge have put together for you. The university was founded in 1209 and is a collegiate university which is a administration public research and teaching facility. It comprises of 31 colleges , which are primarily for residential purposes. The oldest College is Peterhouse, founded in 1284, probably the most famous and recognizable college is Kings College, which can be seen in all its splendor from the ‘Backs’ and is well known for its Carol Service which is broadcast all over the world.Colleges and Museums in Cambridge

To get more information on visiting the different Cambridge Colleges, visit Cambridge University Visitors Guide http://www.cam.ac.uk/ . This will give you all the information,opening times and charges for all the colleges and museums.

As part of Cambridge University there are nine Museums and Collections within the Colleges which are open to the public all year round.

The Botanic Gardens  http://www.botanic.cam.ac.uk/Botanic/Home.aspx

Museum of Zoology  http://www.museum.zoo.cam.ac.uk/

Kettles Yard  http://www.kettlesyard.co.uk/

Fitzwilliam Museum  http://www.fitzmuseum.cam.ac.uk/

The Polar Museum – Scott Polar Reserch  https://www.spri.cam.ac.uk/museum/

Sedgwick Museum of Earth Sciences  http://www.sedgwickmuseum.org/

Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology  http://maa.cam.ac.uk/

Whipple Museum of the History of Science  http://www.sites.hps.cam.ac.uk/whipple/

University of Classical Archaelogy  https://www.arch.cam.ac.uk/

 

Other great Cambridge Museums that are worth a mention that Things To Do In Cambridge love are:-

Cambridge Museum of Technology  http://www.museumoftechnology.com/

Farmland Museum http://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/denny-abbey-and-the-farmland-museum/?utm_source=Google%20Business&utm_campaign=Local%20Listings&utm_medium=Google%20Business%20Profiles&utm_content=denny%20abbey 

The Centre of Computing History  http://www.computinghistory.org.uk/

The Round Church  https://www.visitcambridge.org/things-to-do/church-of-the-holy-sepulchre-the-round-church-p506881

Duxford Imperial War Museum  https://www.iwm.org.uk/visits/iwm-duxford?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIgKa07cSO2QIV4ZPtCh1AEQDoEAAYASAAEg

American Cemetary  https://www.abmc.gov/cemeteries-memorials/europe/cambridge-american-cemetery#.Wngu9Lxl-Uk

 

If you are a lover of gallery’s and want to browse great art or spend some of your hard earned pennies on a great piece of art, Cambridge has some great places to visit…Things To Do In Cambridge loves a little mooch around the galleries, here are our favorites.

The Lawson Gallery  http://www.lawson-gallery.com/node/9

Primavera  https://www.primaveragallery.co.uk/

Cambridge Comtempory  http://www.cambridgegallery.co.uk/

Fitzwilliam  http://www.fitzmuseum.cam.ac.uk/

Byard  https://byardart.co.uk/

Kettles Yard  http://www.kettlesyard.co.uk/

Heong Gallery  http://www.dow.cam.ac.uk/cultural-life/heong-gallery

Castle Gallery  https://www.castlegalleries.com/